v8.01 (build: Jan 4 2020)

Postponed monitoring

It makes sense to use Postponed monitoring to save client-server network traffic, as well as to reduce the load on the complex server and the database at great number of client connections to the server.
If this mode is active for computer or user the monitoring data are accumulated locally on the client machines and are not submitted to the server if the reports on the given computer/user were not built for more than N-hours ("Keep history of reports building" parameter). In fact, this is the maximum time that the BOSS-Offline operator can wait for all postponed data to arrive after the report is built. Do not specify too big value for the parameter, as increased load on network resources. Usually a value of more than 6-8 hours does not make sense.
It should be noted that postponed monitoring data is transmitted to the server only within the time period for which report was built!
It also does not matter which PC the user worked on - building a user report for any PC initiates the transfer of postponed monitoring data from all PCs where this user worked in the specified time intervals.
Disabling postponed mode does not automatically send postponed data to the server!
Thus the users "not interesting" for the monitoring at the present moment will not load the network and the database with their data (retrospective of the local storage on the machines and other options are set on the Computer Settings tab "Local storage").
Should the report be built by the user being in the postponed mode of operation, then naturally there will be no data in the database and the report will be blank. Though 1-2 minutes later the transmission of the accumulated data will be started to the server until all the data are transmitted.
The current size of the machine local storage can be viewed with the BOSS-Online function "General information". Also it is possible to delete the local storage or stop transfer of postponed datas from BOSS-Online.
© Mirobase